About us
Scientific Meetings


Home > IAG > IAG Organization

print version


Elections Report for IAG Officers for the Period 2015-2019

posted by
Sz. Rózsa
The IAG President, Chris Rizos, following Bylaw 39 (b), appointed in spring 2014 the Nominating Committee (NC) for the 2015 IAG elections. Michael G. Sideris (Canada) served as the Chair, and the other members were Silvio R.C. de Freitas (Brazil), Yoichi Fukuda (Japan) and Bernhard Heck (Germany). On August 4, 2014, the NC Chair sent out by email a letter with a Call for Nominations for IAG Officers 2015-2019 to all Delegates of IAG Adhering Bodies, IAG Officers, IAG Fellows, and IAG Members. They were invited to submit nominations for the positions of President, Vice-President, Secretary General, Presidents of Commissions (4), Service Representatives (3), Members at Large (2), and the President of the Communication and Outreach Branch. On the same date, a letter with a Call for Nominations for 3 Service Representatives to the 2015-2019 IAG EC was sent to the Chairs/Presidents of IAG Services and the Directors of IAG Service Bureaus, inviting them to submit nominations only for the 3 Service Representative positions. Attached to these letters were also copies of sections 39 and 40 of the IAG Bylaws, which describe the procedure for nominations and elections of Officers and their eligibility and terms of office, respectively.

By the deadline of November 3, 2014, a total of 55 names were nominated for all positions. The NC accepted for each position all nominees having at least 3 nominations, which resulted in 2 to 5 candidates per position, except for President of the COB for which the second candidate had only one nomination and was therefore not accepted. On December 4, 2014, the NC Chair contacted the 29 accepted nominees and asked them to confirm whether they agreed to be on the ballot or not. Seven of them denied the nomination and therefore there were in the end a total of 22 candidates for 13 positions. The NC was very pleased to see that there was a wide geographical distribution (Argentina, Brazil, China, Egypt, South Africa) of the 5 accepted candidates for the 2 Member at Large positions.

Following the IAG Bylaw 39(e), the NC Chair contacted on March 9, 2015, the IAG Delegates of the 46 countries with fully paid IUGG dues, informing them of the selection process and providing them with the names and short resumés of the accepted candidates. They were also asked, through a letter with a Call for Additional Nominations for IAG Officers 2015-2019, to send in further nominations. By March 21, 2015, the same information was also emailed to all IAG Members. No additional nominations were received by the deadline of April 10, 2015, and therefore the NC prepared the elections ballot with a total of 22 candidates.

On May 7, the Call to vote for IAG officers 2015-2019 and the ballot was sent to the IAG Delegates. By the deadline of May 25, 42 out of the eligible 46 countries had voted. The list of the elected IAG officers is provided at the end of this report. On May 28, 2015 all candidates
(elected and not elected) were informed about the outcome of the election. All elected candidates were asked to confirm that they accepted their position; they all have agreed to serve. The NC Chair has informed the IAG President and Secretary General of the results of the election, and they will inform the current EC members. The Council members will be informed during the IUGG General Assembly in Prague.

The NC Chair would like to thank the members of the NC and the IAG Secretary General for their support and help during the nomination and election process, as well as all nominees and nominators. Congratulations and best wishes for a successful term to all new IAG Officers!

Michael G. Sideris Calgary, June 2, 2015
Chair of the Nominating Committee

Elected Officers to the IAG EC for the period 2015-2019

  • Harald Schuh (Germany)

  • Zuheir Altamimi (France)

Secretary General
  • Hermann Drewes (Germany)

President of the Communication and Outreach Branch
  • József Ádám (Hungary)

President of Commission 1: Reference Frames
  • Geoffrey Blewitt (USA)

President of Commission 2: Gravity Field
  • Roland Pail (Germany)

President of Commission 3: Earth Rotation and Geodynamics
  • Manabu Hashimoto (Japan)

President of Commission 4: Positioning and Applications
  • Marcelo Santos (Canada)

Member at large – Position 1
  • Ludwig Combrinck (S. Africa)

Member at large – Position 2
  • Maria Cristina Pacino (Argentina)

Service Representative – Position 1
  • Ruth Neilan (USA)

Service Representative – Position 2
  • Riccardo Barzaghi (Italy)

Service Representative – Position 3
  • Axel Nothnagel (Germany)